Sacrifice to Release First New Studio Album in 15 Years

Sacrifice to Release First New Studio Album in 15 Years
Over the past five years, any self-respecting metalhead has known about the resurgence of the thrash sub-genre. From new acts picking up the torch to the reformation and subsequent success of old-school outfits, the expediency of thrash - a commingling of punk rock's aggressiveness with heavy metal distortion and hardcore pacing - is more popular now than it was in its "heyday," circa the late '80s and early '90s.

Nothing asserts this revitalization more than the news that Canadian contingent Sacrifice have finally completed their first album in 15 years and will be releasing it in our home and native land via Sonic Unyon on October 27.

For the uninitiated, Sacrifice were the Toronto ambassadors for Canada's Big Four of thrash bands, the others being Montreal's Voivod, London, ON's Razor and Annihilator from Vancouver. While not on the same worldwide status as the American Big Four (Metallica, Megadeth, Anthrax and Slayer, respectively), their albums are still revered among ravenous genre fans to this day.

That's why it's such a treat that Sacrifice's fifth effort, The Ones I Condemn, is being recorded and released many years after the quartet had initially broken up. The album was completed at Toronto's Rouge Valley Studios last winter by the band and Darius Szczepaniak, and features the original line-up of vocalist/guitarist Rob Urbinati, guitarist Joe Rico, bassist Scott Watts and drummer Gus Pynn.

"Canada has always been great to Sacrifice," says Urbinati in a statement about working with Sonic Unyon. "We are extremely happy to have [them] behind us in our home country. Everyone at the label is as excited about the release of The Ones I Condemn as we are and we look forward to working together."

The album was released internationally by Brazil's Marquee Records

Containing ten new original songs, the Canadian version of the album will include an exclusive bonus track of the band's cover of the Rush classic "Anthem," as well as guest appearances by Jed Simon (Strapping Young Lad/Tenet/Front Line Assembly) and Dave Hewson (Slaughter/Strappado).

The Ones I Condemn:

1. "We Will Prevail"
2. "The Ones I Condemn"
3. "Give Me Justice"
4. "The Great Wall"
5. "Tetragrammaton"
6. "Atrocity"
7. "Hiroshima"
8. "The Devil's Martyr"
9. "Ultimate Power Corrupts"
10. "Desolation Alive"
11. "Anthem