Papercuts Details 'Life Among the Savages,' Premieres New Track

Papercuts Details 'Life Among the Savages,' Premieres New Track
A week after fledgling label Easy Sound Recording Company announced numerous LPs as part of its 2014 release schedule, the details have now been given up for indie pop outfit Papercuts' label debut, Life Among the Savages.

As previously reported, the album arrives May 6 through Easy Sound in North America and May 12 overseas via Memphis Industries, and it follows the project's Fading Parade album from 2011.

A press release now adds that singer/songwriter/producer Jason Quever's latest LP features nine new songs informed by baroque pop, the Zombies and Spiritualized. The artist spent the last two years prepping the platter, tracking most of it at his San Francisco home studio. The song cycle is said to meld orchestrated strings, "garagey guitar hooks" and more into the arrangements, and had Quever teaming up with Beach House's Alex Scally on the title cut.

Lyrically, the set is described as a tumultuous account of "city life, alienation, playing in bands, and smoking banana peels." You can hear the first song from the album, the cloud-hopping piano-and-violin-laced pop number "Still Knocking at the Door," down beneath the tracklisting.

Life Among the Savages:

1. Still Knocking At The Door

2. New Body

3. Life Among The Savages

4. Staring At The Bright Lights

5. Family Portrait

6. Easter Morning

7. Psychic Friends

8. Afterlife Blues

9. Tourist