Ministry Early Trax

Remember when Ministry were more ’80s synth-pop than angry ’90s hyper-political industrial? It probably depends on how old you are and how well you know your modern music history. Well pull up a chair and open up that notebook, Early Trax is here to deliver some education. Early Trax compiles Ministry’s twelve-inch singles from 1981 to ’84 and their respective remixes on a 12-song CD that includes, for the discerning collector, four previously unreleased tracks ("He’s Angry,” "Move (orig. mix),” "I’m Falling (alt. mix)” and "Overkill”). The other cuts represented on this nostalgic effort include "Everyday is Halloween” (and remix), "All Day” (and remix), and "Nature of Love” (with remix and outtakes). While the majority of the remixes on the disc are quite listenable and hold their own well, it would have been nice to hear more old cuts and fewer repeats. For the collectors, completists and the curious only, this is not a definitive Ministry must-have. (Rykodisc)