Liars Return with New Album 'TWTWF'

Listen to its "Murdrum" now
Liars Return with New Album 'TWTWF'
Just over a year removed from sharing the TFCF LP as the sole member of Liars, Angus Andrew has lined up a similarly titled sequel album.

Titled TWTWF (an abbreviation for Titles With the Word Fountain), Andrew's latest effort will arrive September 21 through Mute both digitally and on cassette, packaged alongside its predecessor. A vinyl release will follow on November 2.

Recorded during the same sessions as last year's TFCFTWTWF is more than a collection of outtakes or material cut from the former album.

As Andrew elaborated in a statement, "I chose the songs that appear on TFCF based on how well they addressed the trauma of a failed creative relationship, whereas the material on Titles With the Word Fountain is more playful despite revolving around the same sentiments."

The creative relationship Andrew references is that of himself and Liars co-founder Aaron Hemphill, who amicably left the group prior to releasing TFCF.

"There was a lot of pressure in producing TFCF as it was guaranteed to be framed by the lack of band members," Andrew added. "With Titles With the Word Fountain I felt stripped of that burden and more free to include work that could be construed as unclear or abstract."

A first taste of TWTWF can be heard below with "Murdrum." Earlier this year, Mute released Liars' film score 1/1, marking the last release to feature both Andrew and Hemphill.


1. 97 Tears
2. Face In Ski Mask Bodies To The Wind
3. Murdrum
4. Pure Context
5. Double Elegy
6. Left's Got Power Right Hasn't
7. Past Future Split
8. P/A\M
9. Fantail Creeps
10. Perky Cut
11. Feed The Truth
12. Gawking At The Accident
13. Absence Blooms
14. Extracts From The Seated Sequence
15. On Giving Up
16. Sound Of Burning Rubbish
17. A Kind Of Stopwatch
18. No Help Pamphlet (The Alpha Ceti Orchestra Remix) **

**digital only