John Frusciante Shares New EP as Trickfinger, Preps Two More Releases for 2020

Listen to 'Look Down, See Us' EP and sample two tracks from his record 'She Smiles Because She Presses the Button'
John Frusciante Shares New EP as Trickfinger, Preps Two More Releases for 2020
The coronavirus lockdown has had an added sting for Red Hot Chili Peppers diehards, since it's put a pause of the long-awaited return of classic-era guitarist John Frusciante. To tide fans over until the band are able to hit the stage again, Frusciante has just released a new EP from his electronic side-project Trickfinger — and he has more solo material on the way.

The new EP is called Look Down, See Us. It's just four tracks long, with the whole thing clocking in at a little under 20 minutes. Sonically, it's beat-driven electronic music without vocals — similar to what Frusciante has done on his other Trickfinger releases, but nothing like his rock-oriented work.

Look Down, See Us is out via Frusciante's own Evar Records label. Hear it below.

Some sleuths on the John Frusciante subreddit have pointed out that, according to Japanese listings, a six-song album titled She Smiles Because She Presses the Button will follow on June 5. The reported tracklist is below.

UPDATE (4/17, 4 p.m. ET): Frusciante has now confirmed the arrival of She Smiles Because She Presses the Button, which will indeed arrive on June 5 via Avenue 66. He's also shared a pair of songs of the record — "Amb" and "Brise" — that you can hear at the bottom of the page.

A third release will follow later in 2020. The details surrounding that final release are currently unknown. A private Instagram message from Evar Records, shared by Reddit user AaronianKenrod, apparently confirms that there are indeed three new Trickfinger releases.

Meanwhile, Red Hot Chili Peppers have been jamming and working on new material with John Frusciante — but hopefully, for the sake of everyone involved, they are currently practising physical distancing.

Look Down, See Us:

1. GR 8
2. Meaning To
3. Cymm Trace
4. Look Down, See Us

She Smiles Because She Presses the Button:

1. Amb
2. Brise
3. Noice
4. Plane
5. Rhyme Four
6. Sea YX6