Joan of Arc Reveal New Album

Joan of Arc Reveal New Album
Always malleable rock eccentrics Joan of Arc last left us with their conceptual score to 1928 French silent film Joan of Arc called, what else, Joan of Arc Presents Joan of Arc. The next outing from the Chicago troupe truncates that last LP's title and will simply be called Joan of Arc.

The seven-song set will be released November 27 through Joyful Noise Recordings as a limited-edition LP (in a run of 500 copies) and finds the band "grappling with simplicity and minimalism" with arrangements mostly composed of acoustic guitars and the solo voice.

The A-side is said to feature "six concise folk songs," while the flip hosts a longer contemplative piece titled "Chaplinesque." In the video down below, you can sample quickie new tune "King Song," which features nods to Elvis Presley via a melodic bite of "Can't Help Falling in Love" and visuals of members of the Joan of Arc collective doing some fancy hip-wiggling moves on an empty dancefloor.

Band leader Tim Kinsella will also be performing a living room tour around the U.S. in November, and you can catch the details over here.

Joan of Arc:

1. Stamina
2. Bas Jan Ader Song
3. Peace Corpse
4. John Merrick Song
5. King Song
6. Need New Body and The Dead Milkmen
7. Chaplinesque  

Read our timeline on Tim and Mike Kinsella here.