Jóhann Jóhannsson's 'Fordlândia' Is Coming Back to Vinyl

The album has been out of print since 2013
Jóhann Jóhannsson's 'Fordlândia' Is Coming Back to Vinyl
Jóhann Jóhannsson was inspired by the idea of failed utopias for his 2008 album Fordlândia. Now, the effort by the late composer is set to come back to vinyl after years of being out of print.

The 10-track album is set to arrive December 6 through 4AD. Initially released on vinyl in 2013 through Jóhannsson's own NTOV label, original pressings have been known to fetch around $100 CAD or higher on sites such as Discogs.

The reissue of Fordlândia will arrive as a 2xLP 180-gram set, complete with previously unpublished notes from the late composer. The reissue was mastered by Bo Kondren at Calyx, while artwork was adapted from Jóhannsson's original design by Chris Bigg.

Fordlândia takes its title from the prefabricated industrial town in Brazil established by Henry Ford in the 1920s that he then abandoned in 1934. Jóhannsson was also inspired by rocket science, saying of the effort at the time, "This album is like a film with two separate story lines that at first don't seem to have a lot to do with each other, but actually they do."

Jóhannsson passed away on February 9, 2018, in Berlin at age 48. Revisit Fordlândia in the players below.


1. Fordlândia
2. Melodia (i)
3. The Rocket Builder (Io Pan!)
4. Melodia (ii)
5. Fordlândia - Aerial View
6. Melodia (iii)
7. Chimaerica
8. Melodia (iv)
9. The Great God Pan Is Dead
10. Melodia (Guidelines For A Propulsion Device Based On Heim's Quantum Theory)
11. How We Left Fordlândia