Erin Costelo Announces 'We Can Get Over,' Premieres New Tune

Erin Costelo Announces 'We Can Get Over,' Premieres New Tune
It's been three years since Erin Costelo delivered her Fire & Fuss collection, but the Halifax-based singer-songwriter returns later this fall with a new soul-geared album called We Can Get Over. The 10-song set, which a press release explains is inspired by Costelo's love of "old soul, '60s vocal groups and classic arranging," arrives October 9.

"The album is inspired by records that I love and wanting to make an album, or aspire to make an album, that would move people as much as great records have moved me," Costelo said in a statement.

The album's arrangements apparently strive to stand shoulder to shoulder with the likes of Jerry Ragavoy, Bert Burns and Burt Bacharach, with its overall sound said to be similar to the Dells, the Impressions and the Exciters.

Costelo produced the album herself, a first for the musician, and tracked the bulk of it at Halifax's Echo Chamber Studio with engineer Charles Austin. Additional recording was done at Phil Sedore's Living Room Studio.

On top of Costelo's smoky singing voice, the record features Clive MacNutt on guitar and bass, Lukas Pearse on bass, some drumming from Benn Ross and Dave Marsh, and some assistance from Anne Simons of the Blue Engine String Quartet and the NSCC Choir. Background vocals are also offered up from Selah Koile, Samm Reid, and Kirsten Donawa 

You can sample a snippet of the album via the slow-burning soul track "Oh Me Oh My," which you can stream or download down below.

We Can Get Over:

1. Oh Me Oh My
2. Count to 10
3. Give a Little
4. Too Young to be Fooled
5. Everybody Wants to be in Love
6. Let it Go 
7. I Don't Know Anything
8. Hold Me 
9. Down Down 
10. We Can Get Over