Big Thief's Adrianne Lenker Announces Two New Albums

Her 'songs' and 'instrumentals' are due next month
Big Thief's Adrianne Lenker Announces Two New Albums
Big Thief's Adrianne Lenker has announced plans to release two new solo albums — titled songs and instrumentals — on October 23. The records will arrive digitally through 4AD, while physical copies will be released by Rough Trade.

The total 13 tracks were created earlier this year, during what would have been Big Thief's spring and summer tour, which was cancelled because of the pandemic. Instead, Lenker took to the Berkshire Mountains to write new music in a cabin alongside sound engineer Phil Weinrobe.

Of the collection, Lenker wrote:

I am very proud of these recordings, though they were born in a time of grief, both personal and as a collective species. It feels strange to try and pair words with the release of music. I don't know if there is a graceful way to do in these times. Please, if this is something that you feel you won't benefit from, just let it pass away. If you could use some support in the form of songs, give it a spin. These songs have helped me heal. I hope that at least in some small way this music can be a friend to you.

Both records come adorned with hand-painted watercolour covers by Lenker's grandmother Dianne Lee.

Today, Lenker shares the first song from the collection, "anything" from the songs record. You can listen to that below. 

The artist's latest solo release was 2018's abysskiss. Big Thief, meanwhile, dropped two full-length albums last year — Two Hands and U.F.O.F. — as well as a COVID-19 benefit album Demos Vol. 1 – Topanga Canyon, CA – Feb 2018, which arrived earlier this year.

Find Lenker's full statement and the records' tracklistings below.


1. two reverse
2. ingydar
3. anything
4. forwards beckon rebound
5. heavy focus
6. half return
7. come
8. zombie girl
9. not a lot, just forever
10. dragon eyes
11. my angel


1. music for indigo
2. mostly chimes

Pre-order songs and instrumentals.