Toro y Moi Announces New Live Album and Film

Toro y Moi Announces New Live Album and Film
Prolific pop twister Toro y Moi (a.k.a. Chaz Bundick) has announced a new live album and corresponding concert film, though this isn't a commemoration of a standard club show.

Called Toro y Moi: Live from Trona, the 13-song set arrives via Carpark as a digital download on August 5, while a double-LP version pressed on pink vinyl is expected to land November 4, Pitchfork reports. It's expected to feature an array of new live arrangements captured during the live event.

For the film, it was shot in the same California desert area as portions of sci-fi projects like Planet of the Apes and Star Trek, with Bundick and his band performing "beneath the geological wonders known as the Trona Pinnacles."

The film is said to pay homage to "rock films of a previous era" and also mixes in animation and behind-the-scenes VHS footage. There's also a documentary component to the Live from Trona, showing how it was all captured in the arid desert.

The film was recorded over the course of a day by Harry Israelson. Save for the film crew, there wasn't an audience.

The movie premieres online August 4 through Vimeo, though it will be screened for an audience at New York's House of Vans on August 2 and again at Los Angeles' Ace Hotel DTLA on August 4.

You'll find the full set list and a trailer for Toro y Moi: Live from Trona down below.

Toro y Moi's last studio long-player was 2015's What For?, which he followed with the 20-song Samantha mixtape.

Toro y Moi: Live from Trona:

1. Divina 
2. What You Want 
3. Buffalo 
4. Still Sound 
5. Ratcliff 
6. Half Dome 
7. The Flight 
8. JBS [ft. The Mattson 2] 
9. Lilly 
10. High Living 
11. Grown Up Calls 
12. Say That 
13. Yeah Right 

Toro Y Moi: Live From Trona from Primary Colors on Vimeo.