The Felice Brothers Explore 'Life in the Dark' on New Album

The Felice Brothers Explore 'Life in the Dark' on New Album
Two years on from the release of their Favorite Waitress, New York folksmiths the Felice Brothers have announced that they're next set to explore Life in the Dark. An album by that name will be delivered June 24 through their new label home, Yep Roc Records.

A press release explains that the unit tracked the nine-song set in a garage studio at Letter Box Farm, an actual farm out in Columbia County, NY. The album continues to find the band exploring American folk music, while adding in elements of rock and the blues.

Lyrically, Ian Felice is said to be exploring "modern life in a complicated and divided America, through a cynical and occasionally heartbroken lens." His work on the LP is apparently in the same vein as songwriters John Prine and Michael Hurley.

To help promote the upcoming collection, the band have put together a music video for Life in the Dark opener "Aerosol." The fiddle-and-accordion-heavy number is accompanied by a mix of stock footage visuals, from boudoir shoots to the sight of a bunch ape-masked kiddies getting run over on their bikes.

You'll find the video, as well as the tracklisting info for Life in the Dark, below.

Life in the Dark:

1. Aerosol Ball
2. Jack At The Asylum
3. Life In The Dark
4. Triumph '73
5. Plunder
6. Sally
7. Diamond Bell
8. Dancing On The Wing
9. Sell The House